FHS Journalism Earns JEA Recognition

Three Fairbury High School students earned Excellent awards in the 2020 Journalism Education Association winter contest announced this week.  Senior Josephine Blatny won an “Excellent” award for her newspaper layout for “State Champs – Softball.” Senior Carson York received “Excellent” recognition for his Sports/Action Photography for coverage of State softball.  Junior Brynn Novotny received three “Excellent” awards in “Infographic Design,”  “Newswriting” and “Yearbook Sports Writing.”

Across the state, 396 journalism students from 28 high schools earned an award in this year’s JEA Nebraska Winter Contest.  Yearbook, newspaper, literary magazine and broadcasting students across the state will receive certificates for entries judged Superior, Excellent and Honorable Mention. 

 “It is one thing to share news within your school community, but quite another to be evaluated by a professional and deemed worthy of recognition,” said JEA state director Marsha Kalkowski.

2020 FHS Journalism Staff

Since 2004, Nebraska’s JEA has sponsored this contest to showcase student work from the fall semester from across the state. Many advisers use this contest to test the competition in preparation for the NSAA State Journalism Contest.

Entries from each category were judged by professional journalists and veteran high school advisers from across the nation.

There are 21 traditional categories: Advertising, Column Writing, Editorial Cartooning, Editorial Writing, Review Writing, Newspaper Feature Writing, InfoGraphic Design, News Writing, Newspaper Sports Feature Writing, Newspaper Sports News Coverage, Newspaper Layout, Headline Writing & Design, News/Feature Photography, Sports/Action Photography, Photo Illustration, Yearbook Feature Writing, Yearbook Sports Writing, Yearbook Theme Copy Writing, Yearbook Layout, Yearbook Theme Development and In-Depth Coverage. Four broadcast categories: News, Feature, Sports and Overall Program and one literary magazine category.

Other FHS winners include:

Honorable Mention–

Hannak Knigge: Yearbook Layout

Josephine Blatny: Entertainment Review Writing

Brynn Novotny: Photo/Artistic Illustration

DeZaire Bishop: Editorial Writing and Infographic Design

Jane Culp: Newswriting