StuCo hosts annual dodgeball tournament

On Thursday November 1st FHS students participated in the annual dodgeball tournament that was held by student council. Admission for the event was 2 cans of food that was then donated to Blue Valley.

8 teams participated in the event. To make up a team there must be 9 players and at least 3 of the opposite gender. This means there cannot be a team of all girls or all boys. The participants were also not just playing to win the tournament, they also got the chance to win best team name and best team outfit. The team that won best name were the Cereal Killers. Best outfit was awarded to Duck Dynasty.

The two finalist were Gym Class Heroes and Don’t Stop Ballieving.  The two teams fought a tough battle and even had to redo the championship game 3 times. Gym Class Heroes eventually won the game becoming the 2018 Dodgeball Champions. The team consisted of Isaac Robertson ’19, Cora DeBoer ’20, Seth Firmanik ’20, Jaelle Johnson ’20, Chance Amundson ’20, Ellie Ohlde ’21, Brody Kroll ’21, Josh Robertson ’21, and Dylan Starr ’21. 


The Cereal Killers focus on the referee to blow the whistle that will start the game. Photo by: Josephine Blatny

“I think it was a great event that made people work together to try and win,” sophomore Lane Zabokrtsky said.